Representatives of Christ

Representatives of Christ
John 20:21

AUDIO: Listen to the audio version of this post HERE.

John 20:21 (AMP)
21  Then Jesus said to them again, “Peace to you; as the Father has sent Me, I also send you [as My representatives].”

 

After Jesus appears to the 11 disciples in John chapter 20, Jesus makes the statement read above in the subject verse: “…as the Father has sent Me, I also send you [as my representatives].”  When Jesus said “…as the Father has sent Me“, what are we to understand from that?

John 6:38 (GW)
38  I haven’t come from heaven to do what I want to do. I’ve come to do what the one who sent me wants me to do.

So, we are being sent out as Christ’s representatives, His emissaries, not to do our own will, but to do the Will and Work of the Father.  However, we are not being commissioned and sent out without help.

John 14:16 (VOICE)
16  I will ask the Father to send you another Helper, the Spirit of truth, who will remain constantly with you.

John 14:26 (VOICE)
26  The Father is sending a great Helper, the Holy Spirit, in My name to teach you everything and to remind you of all I have said to you.

As representatives of Christ, we have been given the Holy Spirit as a resource to complete our mission assignment:

Mark 16:15 (GW)
15  Then Jesus said to them, “So wherever you go in the world, tell everyone the Good News.

So, if you were to stand before the Father at this moment to give a mission debrief, how successful of a mission report would you be able to give?  Have you been following orders?

Mark 8:38 (NLT)
38  If anyone is ashamed of me and my message in these adulterous and sinful days, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.”

-Dan Rivera
4/18/2017

free counter

One thought on “Representatives of Christ

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

