Have You Been Washed Clean?

Have You Been Washed Clean?
1 Corinthians 6:11

AUDIO: Listen to the audio version of this post HERE.

1 Corinthians 6:11 (VOICE)
11  …you have been washed clean, set apart, restored, and set on the right path in the name of the Lord Jesus, the Anointed, by the Spirit of our living God.

For some reason, most kids love dirt…  LOVE dirt.  I can attest to this with my daughters.  When they go outside (regardless of the instructions given to the contrary), half the time they manage to find a stick to scratch at the dirt with…  or they may just use their hands to play directly in the dirt.  When they come back inside the house, their shoes are caked with it…  their clothes are covered in it and sometimes…  their face and hands are smeared with it!  When I point this fact out to them, they will often try to use their hands to wipe their face clean… with humorous results.  I’m not quite sure what the base level attraction with dirt is, but I know that my parents (who read this blog) can certainly agree with me and shake their heads when I say that (when I was a boy) I also loved to play in the dirt!  (For the record, the picture posted below is NOT of me. *:-)*  )

Well, as humans (even adult ones), we get dirty.  Our own best personal efforts to cleanse ourselves using just our hands will only smear the dirt (like the boy in the photo above), but will not get rid of it.  We need a cleansing agent (like water and soap) to get rid of all the dirt, so that we can be truly clean.

Similarly, as sinners, we are all filthy in God’s sight (Romans 3:12, Romans 3:23).  Our good works, alone, cannot earn us favor in God’s eyes (Isaiah 64:6, Ephesians 2:8-9).  We need a cleansing agent (the shed blood of Christ Jesus) to get rid of the sin, so that we may be truly clean (Titus 3:5, Psalm 51:10, 1Corinthians 6:11).

Even as Christians, we must still ask God daily to forgive us of our sins (Psalm 38:18, Psalm 32:5, Psalm 32:1).  This is not to say we need to be saved every single day.  This is to say that we still fail God every day and need to seek His face and His forgiveness and His mercy and His grace.  His love is more than enough, but we are still obligated to live the life out… to run the race through to the end, when God call us home.  There are no “vacation days” or “retirement” from Christianity.  There is no furlough from living out (and living by) God’s commands.  Yet, there IS God’s grace and His Holy Spirit who guides us from day to day.  We just need to ask AND follow!

Romans 3:12 (NIV)
12  All have turned away, they have together become worthless; there is no one who does good, not even one.

Romans 3:23 (ISV)
23  …all have sinned and continue to fall short of God’s glory.

Isaiah 64:6 (NLT)
6  We are all infected and impure with sin. When we display our righteous deeds, they are nothing but filthy rags…

Titus 3:5 (NLT)
5  He saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He washed away our sins, giving us a new birth and new life through the Holy Spirit.

Ephesians 2:8-9 (NLT)
8-9  For it’s by God’s grace that you have been saved. You receive it through faith. It was not our plan or our effort. It is God’s gift, pure and simple. You didn’t earn it, not one of us did, so don’t go around bragging that you must have done something amazing.

Psalm 51:10 (MSG)
10  Soak me in your laundry and I’ll come out clean,
scrub me and I’ll have a snow-white life.

Psalm 38:18 (NLT)
18  But I confess my sins; I am deeply sorry for what I have done.

Psalm 32:5 (VOICE)
5  When I finally saw my own lies,
I owned up to my sins before You,
and I did not try to hide my evil deeds from You.
I said to myself, “I’ll admit all my sins to the Eternal,”
and You lifted and carried away the guilt of my sin.

Psalm 32:1 (VOICE)
1  How happy is the one whose wrongs are forgiven,
whose sin is hidden from sight.

 

-Dan Rivera
4/24/2017

free counter

One thought on “Have You Been Washed Clean?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

